About the United Methodist Church

The United Methodist Church was formed in 1968 through the unification of the Evangelical United Brethren and Methodist denominations April 23 through May 6, 1968. The United Methodist Church provides spiritual leadership to more than 11 million persons in a broad range of settings on four continents, including North America, Europe, Africa and Asia

Following this Uniting Conference, the many annual conferences of the two denominations began the process of unification on the local level. In fact, three years prior to this unification, the Peninsula-Delaware Conference was the first conference in the denomination to merge its African-American and Anglo Conferences during the Civil Rights Era in 1965.

Headquartered in Dover, Delaware, today’s Peninsula-Delaware United Methodist Conference is comprised of 434 churches, 436 voting clergy members and more than 81,000 lay members. Through making disciples, discovering spiritual gifts and developing leaders, the Peninsula-Delaware United Methodist Conference has a vision to EQUIP and CHALLENGE the Church to TRANSFORM lives through Christ .

Click HERE to learn more about The United Methodist Church.